Yes, right now both medicalmarijuana and recreational are legal in this state on the east coast of the USA. But one thing is that it is no longer illegal, and quite another is that it can be smoked, grown, or bought freely, so I invite you to read in depth this article where we will reveal what is legal and what is not with respect to cannabis in New Sweater.
- 1 ⭐ Medical marijuana in New Jersey
- 2 ⛳ Medical marijuana card in New Jersey How to get it?
- 3 ✨ Recreational marijuana in New JerseyNew Jersey
- 4 ☕ Penalties for possession of greater amounts of marijuana in New Jersey
- 5 📲 Is it legal to smoke marijuana in New Jersey?
- 6 🚀 Where to buy legal marijuana in the state of New Jersey?
- 7 ✅ New Jersey’s Top 10 Best Alternative Treatment Centers or Dispensaries
- 8 🔥 When will the sale of recreational marijuana to adults be legal in New Jersey?
- 9 🎯 Growing marijuana in New Jersey
- 10 🎬 Conclusion
⭐ Medical marijuana in New Jersey
Let’s start with therapeutic cannabis, which was approved in 2010, making this state the fourteenth in the USA that legalizes its use for patients with different pathologies. This law has changed over the last 10 years, allowing access to medical marijuana to those under 18 years of age, or expanding the limits of possession to the sick.
In June of the year 2.019 Governor Phil Murphy signed what is known as “Jake’s Law” in honor of Jake Honig, a cancer patient who was treated with cannabis. This new law encourages the creation of small businesses of growers and manufacturers.
⛳ Medical marijuana card in New Jersey How to get it?
You have to register in the medical marijuana patient registry New Jersey state, and obtain the certification of an authorized doctor that endorses the patient’s condition of any of the diseases that you can see in the following list:
- Chronic pain
- HIV / AIDS
- Inflammatory bowel disease, including Crohn’s disease
- Intractable skeletal muscle spasticity
- sclerosis Amyotrophic lateral sclerosis (ALS) or Lou Gehrig’s disease
- Cachexia or wasting syndrome
- Muscular dystrophy
- Nausea and vomiting
- Opioid use
- disorder Stress disorder traumatic
- Post-Tourette Syndrome
- Seizure disorder, including epilepsy
- Cancer or terminal illness, if the doctor determines that the patient is less than 12 months old
✨ Recreational marijuana in New JerseyNew Jersey
November 3, 2020 was a historic day for residents of Jersey, since from that day on the possession of small amounts of marijuana, hashish, and other cannabis products.
Already in February 2,021 the governor specified the conditions of legalization, where possession limits were set at 6 ounces of marijuana (170 grams) or 17 grams of hashish, a margin that allows users to be more calm than in other states.
☕ Penalties for possession of greater amounts of marijuana in New Jersey
Since the news came into effect cannabis laws of the state of New Jersey, penalties for possession of more than 6 ounces of marijuana for people over 21 years of age can reach up to $ 25,000 and up to 18 months in prison. There may be aggravations such as being in a school zone, and in cases where it is shown that the cannabis was intended for sale or distribution, penalties can reach up to $ 300,000 and up to 20 years in prison.
Minors who possess any amount of cannabis will receive a written warning the first time, the second time the warning will be for the minor’s parents or guardians. If there is a third time or more, the minors will be referred to social services and their case will be followed up.
📲 Is it legal to smoke marijuana in New Jersey?
Yes, but it is only allowed in private places such as homes, or in some spaces enabled for card patients in some dispensaries. This state prohibits smoking or vaping cannabis in smoke-free places, that is, you cannot smoke tobacco, such as public parks, beaches, university campuses, workplaces, etc.
Fines for smoking or vaping marijuana in prohibited locations can range from $ 250 to $ 1,000, depending on location and context. The owner of a place, address, or any other private space, can impose a ban on smoking or vaping yerba on his property.
🚀 Where to buy legal marijuana in the state of New Jersey?
Patients with a medical cannabis patient card or their designated caregivers can legally purchase marijuana at one of the state-licensed dispensaries, known in New Jersey as alternative treatment centers. In this link you can see where they are located, their opening hours, website, or customer reviews and ratings.
Although the possession of small amounts of cannabis is decriminalized in New Jersey, sales of recreational marijuanahave not yet started for seniors. Some of these establishments allow home delivery or collection of the order on the sidewalk to facilitate procedures for patients or caregivers.
✅ New Jersey’s Top 10 Best Alternative Treatment Centers or Dispensaries
- Breakwater Treatment & Wellness (Cranbury)
- Mega Weed Dispensary (Midtown West Jersey)
- Garden State Dispensary (Woodbridge)
- Medical Marijuana Dispensary (Surrounding Area Jersey)
- Compassionate Sciences Alternative Treatment Center (Bellmawr)
- Weedly Marijuana Dispensary (Midtown West Jersey)
- Compassionate Care Foundation (Egg Harbor Township)
- Marijuana Online Dispensary (Surrounding Area Jersey)
- Greenleaf Compassion Center (Montclair)
- Weed Mart Dispensary (Surrounding Area Jersey)
🔥 When will the sale of recreational marijuana to adults be legal in New Jersey?
As of February 21, 2,021, people over the age of 21 are allowed to buy, but the state has not yet begun to license retailers so they can legally sell. At the moment, no more applications for opening licenses are being accepted for new medical marijuana dispensaries, or alternative treatment centers, as they are called in New Jersey.
🎯 Growing marijuana in New Jersey
At the moment ,is not allowed home cultivation of cannabis plants for self-consumption in this state, neither for recreational users nor for patients with a cannabis card. But we think that this prohibition really has little time left, because it is already being studied to allow a certain number of plants per person or household.
Senator Vin Gopal recently introduced a bill that would allow people over 21 in this state to grow up to 6 plants at a time, or a maximum of 12 for each household, and the sick up to 10 plants at a time. It is not the first proposal that comes out in this sense, but we think it may be the final one, time will tell.
New Jersey has adapted to the legalization of marijuana in the USA, and is already another friendly state with this magical plant. Now it only remains for self-cultivation to be allowed and recreational marijuana dispensaries open. But beware, you can still run into legal trouble if your limits are exceeded, so I hope you have learned something from this article.