Yes, both medical and recreational marijuana have been legal in Alaska since November 2014. This cold state became the third in the USA to allow recreational or recreational use, after Colorado and Washington, although the therapeutic use of cannabis was legalized since 1998.
✨ Where can you buy marijuana in Alaska?
To acquire cannabis legally in this state, it must be done in one of the authorized dispensaries. Most of these establishments are concentrated in large cities like Anchorage, but you have many other locations.
Until now there are no stores that exclusively sell medical cannabis, for this reason patients or caregivers of patients with a medical card have to buy in the same dispensaries as recreational consumers.
Anyone over 21 can buy cannabis in these clinics, as buds, concentrates, extracts, lotions, groceries,etc.Underage patients have to authorize an adult caregiver to buy their marijuana for them.
👌 How much marijuana can you buy or own in Alaska?
This state has not imposed purchase limits as is the case in many others in the USA, except when it is purchased to consume in the same establishment. In Alaska , possession is controlled, and in this way the purchase is limited to the same maximum amount that can be carried on at any given time.
Each person can buy or possess up to 1 ounce (28.34 grams) of marijuana, 7 grams of concentrate, or any cannabis product that does not exceed 5.6 grams of THC in total. People who buy cannabis to consume at that time will only be able to buy one gram.
At the name of Consulting we process the information you give us in order to provide the requested service, perform the billing of the same. The data provided will be kept as long as the business relationship is maintained or for the years necessary to comply with legal obligations. The data will not be transferred to third parties except in cases where there is a legal obligation. You have the right to obtain confirmation as to whether SITE OF SHOPS ONLINE S.R.L. is processing your personal data and therefore you have the right to access your personal data, rectify inaccurate data or request its removal when the data is no longer necessary
☕ Is it legal to smoke marijuana in Alaska?
Yes, but it cannot be done in public spaces, except for the few that are authorized, such as some dispensaries. Alaska became one of the first states in the US to allow the opening of lounges or lounges for smoking, but the covid-19 pandemic has slowed its rise.
The ideal thing for consumers, whether they are therapeutic or recreational, is to consume cannabis in their own home so as not to have problems of any kind. Fines for smoking in public spaces can be as high as $ 100.
📲 Can you grow marijuana in Alaska?
Yes, but always respecting a series of rules. The cultivation of cannabis plants at home for self-consumption is allowed as long as it is hidden from public view, and limited to a maximum of 6 plants per person and / or 12 plants per household, regardless of the consumers.
Half of the plants have to be in a vegetative state, or what is the same, there cannot be more than half of the plants allowed in bloom. If you are over 21 years old and you have permission to grow 6 plants, there cannot be more than 3 with buds, and if there is more than one consumer in your house and you have permission to grow 12 plants, only 6 of them can be in bloom at the time.
Remember that in our online Grow shop we send seeds and everything necessary to grow cannabis to the state of Alaska and the rest of the USA. In the case of needing growing material urgently, you have a few hydroponics stores nearby that can help you.
✅ Can you ship or transport marijuana?
This same law applies to the transport and processing of marijuana plants, therefore each consumer, whether recreational or therapeutic, may transport and process at most 6 plants, as long as at least 3 of them do not have buds.
It is legal to transport up to 1 ounce of cannabis ready to consume in a vehicle, but it must be properly closed or sealed, it cannot be opened. Obviously,driving is totally prohibited under the influence of marijuana, and the penalties can be very heavy. Passengers cannot consume inside the vehicle either.
🎯 What are the requirements to get the card that gives access to medical cannabis in Alaska?
Patients who want to be treated with cannabis in Alaska, or their caregivers, have to register with the patient registry managed by the state department of health and social affairs. You first need a signed statement from the doctor diagnosing you with any of the diseases that have been shown to be treatable with marijuana. No more than 16 months can elapse from the doctor’s examination to enrollment in the patient registry.
Minors can also receive cannabis with a medical prescription, but they need to authorize a guardian over 21 years of age to be in charge of managing it. The card has a cost of $ 25, and expires one year after it is issued, with $ 20 being the cost of each renewal. In the following list you can see the diseases that qualify for the medical card:
- HIV / AIDS
- Multiple sclerosis
- Cachexia or wasting syndrome
- Chronic or severe pain
- Persistent muscle spasms
- Seizures, including the characteristics of epilepsy
- Severe nausea
Alaska has A fairly permissive law regarding cannabis, a recreational or medicinal consumer can grow their own weed, or buy it at any of the authorized dispensaries. As long as the consumption is not very high, in this state it is relatively inexpensive to medicate or enjoy this plant, or at least it is much more interesting than other states in the USA.