Yes, right now it is totally legal, both for patients with a medical card and for people over 21 years of age, although with a series of limitations that we will see throughout this article, because it is important to know them so as not to incur any illegality.
⚠️ Since when is it legal?
Medical marijuana was legalized in 2004, although not without controversy, as the state governor refused to sign the agreement. Subsequently, the law has been changing, expanding the list of pathologies that qualify to be treated with cannabis, and facilitating access to patients and their caregivers.
The next important step that Vermont took toward legalizing weed was in 2018, when the possession of small amounts was decriminalized by persons of legal age. Already in 2020, Governor Phil Scott approved sales of recreational cannabis, empowering cities to license dispensaries, although sales for recreational use have not yet officially begun.
Currently, people over the age of 21 in this state can legally possess up to 1 ounce of marijuana (28.3 grams) and up to 5 grams of concentrate. On the other hand, a patient with a cannabis card can possess up to 2 ounces of marijuana.
🧐 Where can you buy legal marijuana in Vermont?
If you have a cannabis patient card, the ideal is to go to one of the authorized dispensaries. You can see many of them, and check their location, hours, read customer reviews, buy prices, etc.
Most of these establishments are concentrated in large cities such as Burlington, Plattsburgh, or Montpelier of course, and so far they can only sell to residents of this state, since there is still no reciprocity law.
Weeding Vermont Prices
Prices can vary greatly depending on the dispensary and the specific product, but on average you can say that a gram of marijuana in Vermont dispensaries costs between $ 8 and $ 25.
It must be said that this state is promoting the creation of small companies of cannabis growers and producers, placing special emphasis on the most disadvantaged classes, and that is keeping prices lower than other states. However, Vermont laws also allow the cultivation of cannabis for self-sufficiency, albeit limited.
👾 How much yerba can you legally buy in this state?
Patient card holders or their delegated caregivers can legally purchase up to 2 ounces of marijuana (57 grams) which is the maximum amount they can legally possess.
It is assumed that starting in 2022 this state will allow recreational marijuana sales to people over 21 years of age. Once this new law comes into force, adults will be able to buy buds with a THC that does not exceed 30%, concentrates of less than 60% THC, edibles of 50 milligram of THC maximum and in portions that do not exceed 5 milligrams.
Medical cannabis sales are tax-exempt in Vermont, but it is expected that once recreational sales begin they will be taxed at heavy rates. However, prices in this state will not be as high as those we see in other parts of this country.
🎬 How many marijuana plants can be grown in Vermont?
This depends on whether the person has a patient card or is for recreational use. In the case of patients or their caregivers, they can grow up to 9 plants at the same time, although only 2 of them can mature simultaneously. People over 21 years of age without a patient card can grow 2 mature or 4 immature plants at a time for their own consumption.
Our online grow shop sends all the necessary material to grow medical marijuana for self-sufficiency of recreational or sick consumers with a patient card. We stand out for our fast and discreet shipping, and we have very competitive prices, but if you prefer to buy the growing material in a local physical store, in this link you can see many of the Vermont grow shops and hydroponics shops.
💻 Medical marijuana in Vermont
Patients who want to access the medical marijuana program of this state, have to register with the VMR (Vermont medical marijuana registry) and send an application along with a photocopy of a valid document that proves their address and identity and a color photograph. You also have to designate a caregiver if necessary, as well as the information of the dispensary where you will buy your supply.
The doctor will evaluate the patient’s health conditions to verify that he or she suffers from one or more of the diseases that the state of Vermont considers can be treated with medical cannabis, which must be one of the following:
- Caquexia or wasting syndrome
- Chronic pain
- Crohn’s disease
- Epilepsy or other seizures
- HIV / AIDS
- Multiple sclerosis
- Parkinson’s disease
- Post-traumatic stress disorder (PTSD)
- Severe nausea
Vermont has joined the legalizing trend of cannabis in the USA, and will shortly become another of the states that allow sale to people over 21 years of age. If they continue with their policy of promoting small companies in the sector, they will get competition that will maintain logical prices and the highest quality, something that other states are not fully controlling.